Subscribe to RSSTHe Week
Construction for nat'l games to finish in 4 days
Do not entertain illegal Tibetans, says Chinese expert on Tibetology
SRC report to be first discussed in thematic committee
Gupta repeats Madhes may break ties with Kathmandu
SC stays Gachchhadar's citizenship fiat
Govt to bust brokers at Kalimati veg market
Govt, Maoists to be blamed if country blacklisted: UML
My Republica e-Paper.
Phalano by Rajesh KC
Cartoon Archive »  

  Daily News
  Photo Gallery
  Loadshedding Schedule
  Govt Policies & Programs
  Budget 2009/10 Speech
Saturday WEATHER

Low o
High o
Sunrise N/A
Sunset N/A
  SPORTS BRIEFS: Shah, Shakya lead Ncell Golf League  


KATHMANDU, Feb 16: Gaurab Bikram Shah and Purna Man Shakya scored 38 points to lead the Ncell Amateur Golf Leauge here at Gokarna Golf Club. Gaurab Shah won the first edition by defeating Purna Man Shakya on the count back.

This league will be played over four-months (February - May).

A total of eight events will be played under stable ford format with full handicap and the player scoring highest stable ford points in all the events will be declared champion.

Similarly, player securing the best gross score will also be award as Ncell Amateur Leauge - Best Gross champion. Pradeep Kumar Shrestha and Joseph Zimmerman are tied third with the score of 36 points.

Teresa, TIA in semis

KATHMANDU: The senior girls´ teams of Teresa Academy and TIA advanced into the semifinals of the Tenth Gyan Niketan Inter School Basketball Tournament on Thursday. Teresa defeated Innovative 35-26 to advance into the semifinal as the winner of Group A. Innovative also made it to the semifinal as the runner-up. Likewise, TIA saw off New Summit 36-20 to book a place in the semifinal. In the senior boys´ category, Golden Peak entered the quarterfinals beating Innovative 47-40. HIMS and Neric also won their respective matches.

Neric, Wilson advance

KATHMANDU: Neric Academy and the host Wilson Academy advanced into the semifinals of the 12th Wilson Whoops Inter School Basketball Tournament in the junior boys´ category on Thursday. Neric defeated Alpha´s 29-18 while the host earned a walkover. In the senior girls´ section, Pennwood entered into the semifinals defeating Edify 34-18. Meanwhile, the senior boys´ teams of Siddhartha Vanasthali and the host Wilson made it to the semifinals winning their respective matches.

Creative, Everyday into last 16

KATHMANDU: Creative Yuva Club, Everyday FC and Om Trinetra Yuva Club advanced into the pre-quarterfinal of the Sunakothi Cup Lalitpur District-wide Football Tournament being held in the capital. Creative defeated Nawa Pravat Yuva Club 4-3 in the penalty shootout after the regulation time finished in a 1-1 draw and the additional 30 minutes remained goalless.

Everyday defeated Two Star Club 4-2. Binod Rai scored twice for Everyday while Sabinraj Lawati and Milan Meghrathi scored one each. Bivek Maharjan and Dilip Maharjan scored one apiece for Two Star. Om Trinetra edged past Sitapakha Yuva Club 2-1. Rajesh Maharjan and Khumraj Maharjan scored one each for Om Trinetra. Manish Chaudhary pulled one back for Sitapakha.

Araniko felicitates Thapa

KATHMANDU: Araniko Boarding School, Bhotebahal felicitated national football team captain Sagar Thapa along with cash reward on Thursday. Araniko School said that Thapa has been rewarded for his contribution as the national team captain and for his stunning goal against Bangladesh in the SAFF Championship held in December, 2011. School Principal Sanjay Yonjan handed over a cash prize of Rs 10,000 to Thapa.

Wilson, NIMS win titles

KATHMANDU: Wilson defeated NIMS 10-9 in senior boys´ 3X3 final of the First NOBS Inter School Basketball Tournament on Thursday while NIMS edged past Teresa 11-10 to lift senior girls´ 3X3 title. Meanwhile, Deneb beat Opal 21-18 in the final of junior boys´ category. Birendra Sen of Deneb, Laxmi Bolakhe of NIMS and Pema Daniel of Wilson were adjudged the most-valuable-players in junior boys´, senior girls´ and senior boys´ categories respectively.

Urlabari wins opening match

ITAHARI: Urlabari Football Club, Morang defeated blue team of the host Rastriya Jagriti Club 1-0 in the opening match of the Sixth San Miguel Dan Bahadur Phuyal Gold Cup here on Thursday. Bikram Dhimal scored the lone goal for Urlabari in the 19th minute of the match. Dhimal was adjudged man-of-the-match. Altogether, eight teams of the eastern region are participating in the tournament that has a cash prize of Rs 55,000 for the winner. Meanwhile, national football team goalkeeper Ritesh Thapa handed over jerseys worth Rs 20,000 to the host club in the opening ceremony.

Budhasubba postponed by two days

DHARAN: Host Dharan Football Club informed press on Thursday that it has postponed the 14th Budhasubba Tuborg Gold Cup by two days. According to club President Kishor Rai, the tournament will kick off on March 19 and end on March 26 as per the new schedule. "We are forced to postpone the tournament by two days as Nepal is hosting AFC Challenge Cup from March 8 to 19," said Rai. Altogether eight teams, including four foreign teams, are participating in the tournament.

Published on 2012-02-16 22:00:12
# # Share [Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]



Please give your full name while posting your comments. This is not to stifle the free flow of comments but your full name will enable us to print the comments in our newspaper.


SPORTS BRIEFS: Shah, Shakya Lead Ncell Golf League
Comment on this news #
Related News
More on Sports
About us  |  Contact us  |  Advertise with us  |  Career   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy
Copyright © Nepal Republic Media Pvt. Ltd. 2008-10.